Samsung LM301B LED Chip

The Samsung LM301B is probably the most popular LED chip in recent years. Its outstanding efficiency makes the difference. But the successor is already in the starting blocks.
Share

LM301B turns the LED world upside down

With the release of the LM301B LED chip in mid-2017, Samsung has thrown the world of lighting pretty much into turmoil. With an efficiency of up to 220 lumens per watt, the package remains the leader in commercially available LEDs. Of course, efficient LEDs are especially interesting for grow lamps. That’s why we take a closer look at the chip. Here you can find the data sheet.

Internally, the LM301B is the heir to the previously sought-after LM561C. Both are mid-power LEDs, an area in which Samsung has been able to gain a lead in recent years. The secret of this success is the so-called flip chip technology in combination with advanced phosphor coating. Let’s explain it briefly!

Light-emitting diodes consist in their core of a "chip" which, depending on the material, begins to emit monochrome light at a certain voltage. These chips are normally installed in a housing and bonded to the contact points of the housing with gold wires. However, this has the disadvantage that the thin gold wires are very sensitive and can break at low pressure on the package. In addition, efficiency losses occur at various points due to reflections in the case.

Flip Chip LED Design

In flip chip technology, this problem is simply bypassed by turning the chip over and binding the P and N conductors of the material directly to the metal contacts in the package. The result is a more durable and efficient LED. In addition, heat dissipation is significantly improved through the metal contacts. This sounds simple, but this technology requires advanced manufacturing techniques that have been optimized on the LM301B to set a new record for luminous efficacy.

Fluorescent coating turns the LM301B into a full-spectrum LED

Originally, light-emitting diodes, were only possible in the colours red and green. Other colors or even a full spectrum were not feasible. Only with the development of the gallium nitride semiconductors at the beginning of the 90s was it possible to realize blue LEDs. This wavelength contains photons that transport a lot of energy. If these energy-charged light particles are exposed to certain luminescent materials, they are excited to emit light of lower energy (= higher wavelength, i.e. green, yellow, red…). This is called luminescence. A layer of phosphors on top of the LED chip makes it possible to produce a full spectrum of light from blue light, which appears white to our eyes.

In luminescence, the quality of the materials is particularly important as to how efficiently the blue light is converted. It also determines the spectrum in which light is emitted. The same blue LED can achieve different colour rendering values and colour temperatures with different coatings. With the LM301B, Samsung offers a wide range of 70, 80 and 90 CRI, as well as different values between 2700K and 6500K colour temperature. For the FLUXengine , however, we prefer the colour temperature of 3500K. This is the ideal spectrum for the entire plant cycle. The colour rendering index of 80 offers the best compromise between efficiency and spectral quality.

LM301B for LED Grow Lights

We all know that lumens – as impressive as 223 lm/W may sound – are not the correct metric for plant lighting. But Samsung also published PPF values for some product lines in May 2018. So now you can say with certainty that the LM301B stands out among all white LEDs here as well – with 2.92 µmol/J at a current of 65 mA. If the LEDs are driven at a lower current, you can easily get more than 3.0 µmol/J.

FLUXengine LED detail
FLUXengine PCB with LM301 LED packages

LM301 Horticulture Version - LM301H!

Since the end of 2018, a new variant of the LM301 series has been announced, the LM301H. "H" as in "Horticulture" - that already sounds very promising. According to Samsung reports, the efficiency has increased by another 0.18 µmol/J compared to the LM301B. It is stated with 3.10 µmol/J (at reference values).

We were able to get to the Comparison of the first generation FLUXengine with the FLUXengine v2 we found an almost 5% higher efficiency, but we attribute this to the improved binning.

We only order pre-selected chips with the highest luminous flux, i.e. the SL Bin at 3500K, from Samsung. Have a look at the video how the single SMD components are mounted on the board!

Update May 2021: LM301B Evo is coming

Samsung has announced a new generation of LM301 LEDs. The new LM301B Evo and LM301H Evo feature improvements in phosphor conversion and reflection in the chip package, resulting in an efficiency increase of a good 5 % (up to 235 lm/W).

The LM301H Evo types are specified with a slightly increased efficiency of 3.17 µmol/J (5000K), respectively 3.2µmol/J ("Mint White" spectrum). This corresponds to an improvement of 2 -3 %.


Share

We are Crescience

Automation and LED Grow Lighting are our passion.

Together we are building a powerful community around the most exciting controlled environment growing technologies. Join us now, it´s free!

Table of contents

More News

1 thought on “Samsung LM301B LED Chip”

  1. Pingback: DIY LED at Indoor Grow - build your own plant lamps

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

BLACK FLUX WEEK

Until 02 DECEMBER 2022
ALL ProDUCTS -5%, EXCEPT LED DRIVERS

Until 02.12. you can really save at the Crescience Store. Here you can find our special offers for the Black FLUX Week.
If you can't find the product you're looking for, no problem, use this voucher:
BLACK-FLUX-5

Samsung LM301B LED Chip

Der Samsung LM301B ist der wohl beliebteste LED Chip der letzten Jahre. Seine herausragende Effizienz macht den Unterschied. Doch der Nachfolger steht schon in den Startlöchern.
Teile diesen Beitrag

LM301B stellt die LED Welt auf den Kopf

Mit der Veröffentlichung des LM301B LED Chips hat Samsung Mitte 2017 die Welt der Beleuchtung ziemlich durcheinandergewirbelt. Eine Effizienz von über 220 Lumen pro Watt macht das Package nach wie vor zum Spitzenreiter unter den kommerziell verfügbaren LEDs. Natürlich sind effiziente LEDs für Grow Lampen besonders interessant. Deshalb schauen wir uns den Chip mal genauer an. Hier findet ihr das Datenblatt.

Intern beerbt der LM301B den Vorgänger LM561C, der in kostengünstigen Anwendungen nach wie vor eingesetzt wird. Bei beiden handelt es sich um Mid-Power LEDs, ein Gebiet auf dem Samsung in den letzten Jahren einigen Vorsprung gewinnen konnte. Das Geheimnis dieses Erfolgs ist die sogenannte Flip Chip Technik in Kombination mit fortschrittlicher Phosphorbeschichtung. Das erklären wir mal in Kürze!

Leuchtdioden bestehen in ihrem Kern aus einem “Chip” der, je nach Material, bei einer gewissen Spannung anfängt einfarbiges Licht abzustrahlen. Diese Chips werden normalerweise in einem Gehäuse verbaut und mit Golddrähten an die Kontaktstellen des Gehäuses angebunden (gebonded). Dies hat jedoch den Nachteil, dass die dünnen Golddrähte sehr empfindlich sind und bei geringem Druck auf das Gehäuse reißen können. Zudem entstehen an diversen Stellen Effizienzverluste durch Reflexionen im Case.

Flip Chip LED Design

Bei der Flip Chip Technik wird diese Problematik einfach umgangen, indem der Chip umgedreht wird und die P- und N-Leiter des Materials direkt auf die Metallkontakte im Gehäuse gebunden werden. Das Resultat ist eine widerstandsfähigere, und effizientere LED. Zudem verbessert sich die Wärmeableitung durch die Metallkontaktierungen deutlich. Das hört sich einfach an, aber für diese Technik sind fortschrittliche Fertigungsverfahren nötig, die beim LM301B eigens optimiert wurden, um den neuen Rekord bei der Lichtausbeute aufzustellen.

Leuchtstoffbeschichtung macht den LM301B zur Vollspektrum LED

Ursprünglich waren Licht emittierende Dioden, also LEDs nur in den Farben Rot und Grün möglich. An andere Farben oder sogar ein volles Spektrum war nicht zu denken. Erst durch die Entwicklung des Galliumnitrid-Halbleiter Anfang der 90er Jahre war es möglich blaue LEDs herzustellen. Diese Wellenlänge enthält Photonen, die viel Energie transportieren. Wenn man diese energiegeladenen Lichtteilchen auf bestimmte Leuchtstoffe treffen lässt, wird dieser angeregt, Lichtteilichen niedrigerer Energie (= höherer Wellenlänge, also grün, gelb, rot…) aussenden. Das nennt man Lumineszenz. Eine Schicht aus Leuchtstoffen über dem LED Chip ermöglicht es also, aus blauem Licht ein volles Lichtspektrum zu erzeugen, das für unser Auge weiß erscheint.

Bei der Lumineszenz kommt es besonders auf die Qualität der Materialien an, wie effizient das blaue Licht umgewandelt wird. Außerdem entscheidet sich dabei, in welchem Spektrum Licht ausgegeben wird. Die gleiche blaue LED kann mit verschiedenen Beschichtungen also verschiedene Farbwiedergabewerte und Farbtemperaturen erzielen. Bei der LM301B hat Samsung hier ein breites Angebot von 70, 80 und 90 CRI, sowie verschiedenen Werten zwischen 2700K und 6500K Farbtemperatur. Für die FLUXengine kommt jedoch eigentlich nur eine Farbtemperatur von 3500K in Frage. Dies ist das ideale Spektrum für den ganzen Pflanzenzyklus. Der Farbwiedergabeindex von 80 bietet dabei den besten Kompromiss aus Effizienz und spektraler Qualität.

LM301B für Grow LEDs

Wir alle wissen ja, dass Lumenwerte – so beeindruckend 223 lm/W auch klingen – für Pflanzenbeleuchtung kein richtiger Maßstab sind. Aber Samsung hat im Mai 2018 auch PPF-Werte einiger Produktlinien veröffentlicht. So kann man jetzt mit Gewissheit sagen, dass der LM301B auch hier alle weißen LEDs aussticht – und zwar mit sage und schreibe 2,92 µmol/J bei einem Strom von 65 mA. Wenn man die LEDs geringer bestromt, kann man ohne Weiteres über 3,0 µmol/J kommen.

FLUXengine LED Detail
LED Chips auf einer FLUXengine Platine

LM301 Horticulture Version - LM301H!

Seit Ende 2018 ist eine neue Variante der LM301-Reihe angekündigt, der LM301H. “H” wie “Horticulture”, also Gartenbau – das klingt schon sehr vielversprechend. Laut Samsung-Meldungen ist die Effizienz im Vergleich zum LM301B noch um 0,18 µmol/J gestiegen. Sie wird mit 3,10 µmol/J (bei Referenzwerten) angegeben.

Wir konnten im Vergleich der ersten Generation FLUXengine mit der FLUXengine v2 eine knapp 5% höhere Effizienz feststellen, die wir jedoch auf das verbesserte Binning zurückführen.

Wir ordern bei Samsung nur vorselektierte Chips mit dem höchsten Lichtstrom, das heißt die SL Bin bei 3500K. Schau dir im Video an wie die einzelnen SMD Bauteile auf die Platine montiert werden!

Update Mai 2021: LM301B Evo kommt

Samsung hat eine neue Generation der LM301 LEDs angekündigt. Bei den neuen Typen LM301B Evo und LM301H Evo sind wird durch Verbesserungen an der Phosphor-Konvertierung und der Reflexion im Chipgehäuse eine Effizienzsteigerung von gut 5 % erzielt (bis zu 235 lm/W).

Die LM301H Evo Typen werden mit einer leicht erhöhten Effizienz von 3,17 µmol/J (5000K), respektive 3,2µmol/J (“Mint White” Spektrum) angegeben. Das entspricht einer Verbesserung um 2 -3 %.


Teile diesen Beitrag

Wir sind Crescience

Automatisierung und LED Pflanzenbeleuchtung sind unsere Leidenschaft.

Gemeinsam bauen wir eine starke Community rund um die spannendsten Technologien für Pflanzenkultur in geschlossenen Systemen auf. Mach mit, es ist kostenlos!

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Weitere Neuigkeiten

1 Kommentar zu „Samsung LM301B LED Chip“

  1. Pingback: DIY LED beim Indoor Grow - Pflanzenlampen selbst bauen

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Diese Seite ist durch reCAPTCHA geschützt und es gelten die Google Datenschutzbestimmungen und Dienstleistungsbedingungen.