DIY LED for indoor growing

DIY LEDs for plant lighting are more popular than ever. A small overview about COBs, Stripes and the FLUXengine.
COB LED
Share

Building plant lights yourself - DIY LED - continues to be in vogue. Why are do-it-yourself LEDs so attractive for plant lighting in private indoor cultivation? When it comes to lighting for plants, there are three key requirements that have long contradicted each other:

  1. Low acquisition costs, as many photons per Euro as possible
  2. An even distribution of light over the entire cultivation area. This means the most homogeneous PPFD values.
  3. Efficiency. As many photons as possible per kilowatt hour of electrical energy.
DIY LED at Indoor Grow 1

High intensity discharge lamps - NDL/HPS & Co.

Until a few years ago, the most popular light sources for indoor plant lighting were gas discharge lamps (NDL, MDL, etc.), as they promised a high light yield at low investment costs.

But even if we ignore the heat problem of this type of lamp, there is a big problem with the even distribution of light. Reflectors and spreaders can only avoid so-called hotspots at the expense of efficiency, while the illumination at the edges is greatly reduced.

But these are already quite old-fashioned light sources, after all we live in the age of LEDs! Their only disadvantage is that they are comparatively expensive...

DIY - DIY LED

DIY LED at Indoor Grow 2

But with the light emitting diodes a cheap solution can be realized, if you have a little bit of craftsmanship. For DIY LED plant lamps there are different approaches, which we will briefly introduce in the following:

E27 panel as plant lighting

The absolute entry-level class in the DIY sector is E27 lamps, which can be purchased in any DIY store. As they can be supplied directly with mains voltage on the E27 base, they are considered a very cost-effective alternative to the other DIY LED options that require a special power supply unit. The components are extremely easy to get and cheap. Some simple LED bulbs with 7 watts are available for only 1 €.

As inviting as this concept is, it also has some disadvantages.

  • Headroom: The LED bulb itself is already relatively long, plus the base and wiring, so you have to reckon with about 20 cm height. This is often wasted space in narrow grow boxes.
  • Efficiency: Most manufacturers do not prioritise this. 130-140 lm/W is the most that can be expected, average products deliver about 100 lm/W.
  • Lifespan: Due to the shape of the housing, which is based on the incandescent lamp, the heat dissipation is often insufficient. Therefore, usually only 20,000 hours can be expected.

COBs

For a long time, the most popular DIY LED solutions were COBs - chips on board - which have the advantage of simpler wiring compared to the equally efficient high-power LEDs. Here, however, photons are generated centrally again and must be distributed by suitable optics, which is basically at the expense of efficiency. The concentrated power of the COBs on a very small area also requires complex cooling solutions.

COB LED
Power package: COBs can be operated at high power

The most popular COBs for indoor plant lighting have long been the Cree CXB3590, which can run up to 130W. In order to achieve an acceptable light output of approx. 2.3 µmol/J, this LED chip is supplied with a low current and then needs approx. 50W.

LED strip

In the meantime the hobbyist scene has developed further. In recent years, more and more affordable Mid Power LEDs have been launched on the market, which are more efficient and, above all, provide better light distribution. To achieve this, as many dedicated LEDs as possible are distributed over a large area to achieve a very even illumination.

In the hobby sector, LED engines are mostly used for mid-power solutions, which are offered by the major manufacturers for retrofit solutions. These strips - also called Strips or Stripes - are intended as a replacement for neon tubes. Several of them can be combined to form a panel, which usually only requires plug connections. Even though mid power chips usually don't generate much waste heat, a simple heat sink is recommended for efficient and reliable operation. Resourceful hobbyists build a grid from simple U-profiles onto which the strips are mounted.

DIY LED Stripe Panel
LED strips have low power, but distribute the light excellently

Disadvantages of LED strips

This is an efficient and, above all, inexpensive way to build efficient plant lighting. However, the Stripes also have disadvantages.

Basically, the LED strips are not designed for plant lighting - to achieve the required intensity, a large number of strips must usually be combined - a tangled mess of cables is inevitable.

In addition, the strips are often not ideal for heat dissipation, as the cheaper variants are usually made of FR4, a synthetic resin. Higher-quality stripes rely on aluminium-core PCBs, which distribute and dissipate heat well.

But what can actually become a problem for DIY LED projects are the mounting options. All that is left for the hobbyist is double-sided adhesive tape, which further impairs heat conduction and in the worst case even loses its adhesion due to thermal stress.

Crescience LED Stripes: The FLUXstrips and APEXstrips

Our FLUXstrips and APEXstrips have been developed to simplify the individual construction of strip panels. The modular system is based on 48 cm long LED strips, which are offered in many horticulture-specific light colours and wavelengths. The strips are made of thermally conductive aluminium and have holes for mounting on standard 20 mm pitch grooved profiles.

LED Engines

One possible solution to achieve high performance without sacrificing efficiency and illumination are Grow LED Engines. These modules are available in numerous variants. Mostly they are equipped with numerous mid-power LEDs, such as the efficient Samsung LM301B or the newer LM301H.

Crescience has the FLUXengine was developed as a compact LED board to establish a DIY friendly solution to build high efficiency grow LEDs by yourself.

For someone who values the highest energy efficiency in the lighting system, these LED engines are ideal. The FLUXengine can be screwed onto standard slot profiles, which in most cases even saves the purchase of a separate heat sink. With a solid, three millimetre thick aluminium PCB, the FLUXengine is optimised for best heat dissipation. The dimensions are based on the common dimensions for furniture and grow boxes, so that the ideal lighting can be constructed for any surface.

The special feature of this LED module is that a large number of LED chips are installed on the surface, which means that the FLUXengine achieves an extraordinarily high luminous efficacy at low load (700-2000 mA of max. 4000 mA).

FLUXengine LED detail
LED Board with LM301H - the FLUXengine in detail

Crescience also provides reference designs and comprehensive documentation for do-it-yourself construction. However, we would like to point out that do-it-yourself plant lighting is only recommended for qualified professionals.

LED Boards - FLUXshields

LED Boards like the FLUXshield are becoming increasingly popular. Because a large part of the tinkering is omitted here, these large LED modules are ideally suited for DIY Grow LEDs. The LED board can be connected directly to the power supply, which is then equipped with a Schuko power cable.

For larger areas, several of these boards can be connected on a frame of grooved profiles to achieve the required performance. This can be done very quickly and easily. Therefore, LED boards, especially FLUXshields are the first choice when large areas are to be illuminated in a cost-optimized and efficient way.

FLUXshield Gold 240W
A FLUXshield Gold can illuminate areas of up to one square meter. Only two cables need to be connected.

Conclusion: DIY LED for plant lighting

We hope you enjoyed this article and that it provides an informative overview of DIY plant lighting options. DIY LEDs for plant lighting are an excellent alternative to ready-made products, as a better result can be achieved at a lower cost. The only disadvantage is that you need to be an expert to do the wiring correctly. If you have any questions about the topic or our products, please do not hesitate to contact us. Contact record!

Share

We are Crescience

Automation and LED Grow Lighting are our passion.

Together we are building a powerful community around the most exciting controlled environment growing technologies. Join us now, it´s free!

Table of contents

More News

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

DIY LED beim Indoor Grow

DIY LEDs für Pflanzenbeleuchtung sind beliebter denn je. Ein kleiner Überblick zu COBs, Stripes und der FLUXengine.
COB LED
Teile diesen Beitrag

Pflanzenlampen selber bauen – DIY LED – ist weiterhin im Trend. Warum sind Do-it-yourself LEDs so attraktiv für Pflanzenbeleuchtung im privaten Indoor Anbau? Bei Beleuchtung für Pflanzen gibt es drei zentrale Anforderungen, die sich lange widersprochen haben:

  1. Geringe Anschaffungskosten, möglichst viele Photonen pro Euro
  2. Eine gleichmäßige Verteilung des Lichts auf der gesamten Anbaufläche. Das heißt möglichst homogene PPFD-Werte.
  3. Effizienz. Möglichst viele Photonen pro Kilowattstunde elektrischer Energie.
DIY LED beim Indoor Grow 1

Hochdruckentladungslampen - NDL/HPS & Co.

Die beliebtesten Lichtquellen für Indoor Pflanzenbeleuchtung waren bis vor einigen Jahren Gasentladungslampen (NDL, MDL, etc.), da sie eine hohe Lichtausbeute bei geringen Investitionskosten versprachen.

Doch selbst wenn wir das Hitzeproblem dieses Lampentyps außer Acht lassen, stellt sich ein großes Problem bei der gleichmäßigen Verteilung des Lichts. Reflektoren und Spreader können sogenannte Hotspots nur auf Kosten der Effizienz vermeiden, während die Ausleuchtung an den Rändern stark abnimmt.

Aber das sind ja nunmehr auch schon recht altmodische Leuchtmittel, immerhin leben wir im Zeitalter der LEDs! Deren einziges Manko ist wohl, dass sie vergleichsweise teuer sind…

Selbstbau - DIY LED

DIY LED beim Indoor Grow 2

Mit den Leuchtdioden lässt sich aber eine günstige Lösung realisieren, wenn man ein wenig handwerkliches Geschick hat. Für DIY LED Pflanzenlampen gibt es verschiedene Ansätze, die wir im folgenden kurz vorstellen:

E27 Panel als Pflanzenbeleuchtung

Die absolute Einstiegsklasse im DIY-Bereich sind E27 Leuchtmittel, die in jedem Baumarkt erworben werden können. Da sie auf dem E27 Sockel direkt mit Netzspannung versorgt werden können, gelten sie als sehr günstige Alternative zu den anderen DIY LED Möglichkeiten, die ein spezielles Netzteil benötigen. Die Bauteile sind extrem leicht zu beschaffen und günstig. Teilweise sind einfache LED Birnen mit 7 Watt schon für 1 € zu haben.

So einladend dieses Konzept ist, birgt es jedoch auch einige Nachteile.

  • Bauhöhe: Die LED Birne selbst ist schon relativ lang, dazu kommen Sockel und Verkabelung, sodass man mit etwa 20 cm Bauhöhe rechnen muss. Das ist oft verschenkter Platz in engen Growboxen.
  • Effizienz: Die meisten Hersteller setzen hier keine Priorität. 130-140 lm/W sind höchstens zu erwarten, durchschnittliche Produkte liefern ca. 100 lm/W.
  • Lebensdauer: Aufgrund der Gehäuseform, die sich an der Glühlampe orientiert, ist die Wärmeabfuhr oft nicht ausreichend. Deshalb sind meist nur 20.000 Stunden zu erwarten.

COBs

Am beliebtesten für DIY LED Lösungen waren lange COBs – Chips on Board – die gegenüber den ebenfalls effizienten High Power LEDs den Vorteil einer einfacheren Verkabelung aufweisen. Hier werden Photonen aber wieder zentral erzeugt und müssen durch geignete Optiken verteilt werden, was grundsätzlich zulasten der Effizienz geht. Die gebündelte Leistung der COBs auf kleinster Fläche erfordert zudem aufwendige Kühllösungen.

COB LED
Kraftpaket: COBs können mit hoher Leistung betrieben werden

Die beliebtesten COBs für Indoor Pflanzenbeleuchtung sind seit langer Zeit die Cree CXB3590, die bis zu 130W laufen können. Um eine akzeptable Lichtausbeute von ca 2,3 µmol/J zu erhalten, wird dieser LED Chip niedrig bestromt und benötigt dann ca. 50W.

LED Streifen

Die Bastlerszene hat sich inzwischen weiterentwickelt. Denn in den letzten Jahren kamen zunehmend günstige Mid Power LEDs auf den Markt, die effizienter sind und vor allem eine bessere Lichtverteilung ermöglichen. Dafür werden möglichst viele dedizierte LEDs über eine große Fläche verteilt, um eine sehr gleichmäßige Ausleuchtung zu erzielen.

Im Hobby-Bereich wird für Mid-Power Lösungen meist auf LED Engines gesetzt, die für Retrofit-Lösungen von den großen Herstellern angeboten werden. Diese Streifen – auch Strips oder Stripes genannt – sind als Ersatz für Neonröhren gedacht. Mehrere davon können zu einem Panel kombiniert werden, dafür sind meist nur Steckverbindungen nötig. Auch wenn Mid Power Chips meist nicht viel Abwärme erzeugen, ist ein einfacher Kühlkörper für effizienten und zuverlässigen Betrieb zu empfehlen. Findige Bastler bauen aus einfachen U-Profilen ein Gitter, auf das die Streifen montiert werden.

DIY LED Stripe Panel
LED Streifen haben zwar geringe Leistung, verteilen das Licht jedoch hervorragend

Nachteile der LED Streifen

Das ist eine effiziente und vor allem günstige Möglichkeit, effiziente Pflanzenbeleuchtung zu bauen. Die Stripes haben allerdings auch Nachteile.

Grundsätzliche sind die LED-Stripes nicht für Pflanzenbeleuchtung konzipiert – um die nötige Intensität zu erreichen müssen meist sehr viele Streifen komnbiniert werden – da ist Kabelsalat vorprogrammiert.

Außerdem sind die Streifen oft nicht ideal für die Wärmeabfuhr, da die günstigeren Varianten meist aus FR4, einem Kunstharz, bestehen. Hochwertigere Stripes setzen auf Aluminiumkern-Leiterplatten, mit denen die Wärme gut verteilt und abtransportiert werden kann.

Was für DIY LED Projekte aber tatsächlich zum Problem werden kann, sind die Montagemöglichkten. Da bleibt dem Bastler meißt nur doppelseitiges Klebeband, das die Wärmeleitung weiter verschlechtert und im schlimmsten Fall sogar wegen der thermischen Belastung seine Haftung verliert.

Crescience LED Stripes: Die FLUXstrips und APEXstrips

Unsere FLUXstrips und APEXstrips wurden dafür entwickelt, die individuelle Konstruktion von Streifenpanels zu vereinfachen. Das Modulare System basiert auf 48 cm langen LED Streifen, die in vielen Horticulture-spezifischen Lichtfarben und Wellenlängen angeboten werden. Die Streifen sind aus wärmeleitenden Aluminium gefertigt und verfügen über Bohrungen für die Montage auf Standard-Nutprofilen mit 20 mm Raster.

LED Engines

Eine mögliche Lösung, um hohe Leistung zu erreichen, ohne der Effizienz und Ausleuchtung zu opfern, sind Grow LED Engines. Diese Module sind in zahlreichen Varianten erhältlich. Meist werden sie mit zahlreichen Mid-Power LEDs, wie den effizienten Samsung LM301B oder den neueren LM301H bestückt.

Crescience hat die FLUXengine als kompaktes LED Board entwickelt, um eine DIY-freudliche Lösung zu etablieren, mit der man hocheffizinte Grow LEDs selbst bauen kann.

Für jemanden der wert auf höchste Energieeffizienz beim Beleuchtungssystem legt, sind diese LED-Engines ideal. Die FLUXengine ist auf Standard-Nutprofilen verschraubbar, was in den meisten Fällen sogar die Anschaffung eines eigenen Kühlkörpers erspart. Mit einer massiven, drei Millimeter starken Aluminiumplatine ist die FLUXengine für beste Wärmeabfuhr optimiert. Die Abmessungen orientieren sich an den gängigen Maßen für Möbel und Growboxen, sodass für jede Fläche die ideale Beleuchtung konstruiert werden kann.

Die besonderheit dieses LED Moduls ist, dass auf der Fläche sehr viele LED Chips verbaut sind, womit die FLUXengine bei geringer Auslastung (700-2000 mA von max. 4000 mA) eine außerordentlich hohe Lichtausbeute erreicht.

FLUXengine LED Detail
LED Board mit LM301H - die FLUXengine im Detail

Crescience stellt zudem Referenzdesigns und umfassende Dokumentation zum Selbstbau zur Verfügung. Wir möchten dennoch darauf hinweisen, dass der Eigenbau von Pflanzenbeleuchtung nur für qualifizierte Fachleute empfohlen ist.

LED Boards - FLUXshields

LED Boards wie das FLUXshield werden zunehmend beliebter. Weil hier ein Großteil der Bastelarbeit wegfällt, sind diese großfächigen LED Module für DIY Grow LEDs bestens geeignet. Das LED Board kann hier direkt am Netzteil angeschlossen werden, welches dann noch mit einem Schuko-Netzkabel ausgestattet wird.

Bei größeren Flächen lassen sich mehrere dieser Boards auf einem Rahmen aus Nutprofilen verbinden, um die benötigte Leistung zu erreichen. Das geht sehr schnell und einfach von der Hand. Daher sind LED Boards, insbesondere FLUXshields die erste Wahl, wenn große Flächen kostenoptimiert und effizient ausgeleuchtet werden sollen.

FLUXshield Gold 240W
Ein FLUXshield Gold kann Flächen von bis zu einem Quadratmeter ausleuchten. Dabei müssen nur zwei Kabel verbunden werden.

Fazit: DIY LED für Pflanzenbeleuchtung

Wir hoffen dieser Artikel hat dir gefallen und bietet dir eine informative Übersicht zu den Möglichkeiten selbstgebauter Pflanzenlampen. DIY LED für Pflanzenbeleuchtung sind eine hervorragende Alternative zu Fertigprodukten, da kostengünstig ein besseres Ergebnis erzielt werden kann. Der Nachteil besteht lediglich darin, dass man fachkundig sein sollte, um die Verdrahtung korrekt umzusetzen. Wenn Du noch Fragen zum Thema oder unseren Produkten hast, zögere nicht, mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen!

Teile diesen Beitrag

Wir sind Crescience

Automatisierung und LED Pflanzenbeleuchtung sind unsere Leidenschaft.

Gemeinsam bauen wir eine starke Community rund um die spannendsten Technologien für Pflanzenkultur in geschlossenen Systemen auf. Mach mit, es ist kostenlos!

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Weitere Neuigkeiten

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

Diese Seite ist durch reCAPTCHA geschützt und es gelten die Google Datenschutzbestimmungen und Dienstleistungsbedingungen.

BLACK FLUX WEEK

Bis 02. DEZEMBER 2022
ALLE ProDUKTE -5%, Außer LED TREIBER

Bis 02.12. kannst Du im Crescience Store richtig sparen. Hier findest Du unsere Sonderangebote zur Black FLUX Week.
Wenn Dein Wunschprodukt nicht dabei ist, kein Problem, nimm doch diesen Gutschein:
BLACK-FLUX-5